Smoke-Free Campus Policy Implementation Committee Minutes from June 6th, 2012

ttending: Jennifer Farish, Hilarie Bain, Amanda Walker, Erin Garrett, Michael Barnett, Nels Strickland, Leslie Banahan, Tim Walsh, Missy Downey, Michael Thompson, Donna Gurley, Scott Wallace, T. Davis, Travis Yates, Amy Fisher, Ray Hawkins, Michael Harmon, Katie Moody, Quadray Kohlhiem, Sandy Bentley, Shannon Richardson

Proceedings: The committee discussed the language of the Smoke-Free Campus Policy by collectively reviewing via PowerPoint each statement in the policy. The committee voted unanimously by show of hands that the policy remain "smoke-free" versus "tobacco-free". The Associated Student Body representative reiterated the ASB's reasoning to keep the language "smoke-free" versus "tobacco-free. This student-led initiative supported by the administration was passed through the ASB specifically using only the "smoke-free" language. The intent of the policy is to prevent second-hand smoke from affecting the health of other people on campus; smokeless tobacco use is not detrimental to anyone's health other than the person using that tobacco, therefore smokeless tobacco is excluded from the policy at this time.

After the "smoke-free" language was approved, the remainder of the policy was reviewed and discussed, and the following revisions were made:

- 1) "properties and grounds" were added to the description of prohibited campus locations
- 2) "personal vehicles" were added to the list of prohibited locations
- 3) "electronic cigarettes that emit smoke" were added to the list of prohibited smoking products

The updated policy will be reviewed by the administration and the policy directory is anticipated to be updated by June 15th, with an implementation goal of July 1st. By implementation, we intend to introduce the policy to the campus community and provide information about smoking cessation programs, enforcement plans, etc. The campus community will have until January 1, 2013 to fully comply with the new policy.

Sub-committees were then assigned as follows:

Marketing & Communications

Next Meeting: Wednesday, June 20 at 3:30 p.m.

Chairpersons: Jennifer Farish, Hilarie Bain, & Tim Walsh

Also serving: Michael Thompson, Erin Garrett, Quadray Kohlhiem, Jenny Kate Luster, Ryan Whittington, Amanda Walker, Shannon Richardson

Policy Research

Next Meeting: Monday, June 11 at 2:00 p.m. Chairpersons: Maurice Eftink & Amanda Walker Also serving: Bob Brown, Michael Barnett

Legal & Enforcement

Next Meeting: Wednesday, June 13 at 10:00 a.m.

Chairpersons: Donna Gurley, Ray Hawkins, & Michael Harmon

Also serving: Missy Downey

Smoke-Free Campus Policy Implementation Committee Minutes from June 6th, 2012

Cessation Programming

Next Meeting: Wednesday June 20 at 11:00 a.m.

Chairpersons: Travis Yates, Amy Fisher, & Sandy Bentley

Also serving: T. Davis

Implementation Planning

Next Meeting: After next full-committee meeting.

Chairpersons: Camp Best, Tiffany Edwards, & Scott Wallace

Also serving: Leslie Banahan

The next all-committee meeting was scheduled for June 27 at 3:00 p.m., Lyceum 200. A reporter from *The Daily Mississippian* has asked to attend our committee meeting on June 27.