**Smoke - Free Policy Implementation Committee** 

May 7, 2012 – 12:15 PM

Lyceum 200

Attending: Leslie Banahan, Shannon Richardson, Camp Best, Maurice Eftink, Bob Brown, Michael Barnett, Melissa Downey, Daniel Roberts, Jessica Brouckaert, Quadray Kohlhiem, Travis Yates, Takilya Davis, Donna Gurley, Tim Walsh, Jennifer Farish, Hilarie Bain, Ray Hawkins, Michael Harmon, Clay Jones, Ryan Whittington, Nels Strickland, Amanda Walker

- This was the inaugural meeting of the committee. Committee members were asked to serve by Chancellor Dan Jones.
- Dr. Larry Ridgeway, Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs welcomed the attending committee members, thanked them for their willingness to serve, and introduced the proposed concept of a smoke - free campus at Ole Miss.
- Ms. Leslie Banahan, Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs, and Ms. Shannon Richardson, Assistant Director of Campus Recreation, will serve as the co-chairs of the committee
- A draft of the proposed policy was distributed to all members, along with a copy of the resolution for a smoke free campus passed by the ASB.
- Leslie Banahan led a general discussion about the draft policy. The proposed plan is to
  do a soft roll-out of the policy during the upcoming fall semester (no fines/penalties)
  followed by a hard implementation of the policy on January 1, 2013 (with
  fines/penalties).
- Further discussion ensued concerning possible issues and anticipated challenges surrounding enforcement of the proposed policy.
- The next meeting of the committee will be held on June 6 at 4:00PM in Lyceum 110.